Pouring Trauma Steadily Down

A weight on my shoulders, chest, and ankles, but never a regret, for my trauma has taught me how to be strong.

A curse, but never a weakness, for my trauma has taught me how to teach myself.

A struggle, but never a setback, for my trauma has taught me how to keep moving (and even if I sometimes feel like I’m moving backwards, moving is still progress because bringing myself out of this emotional paralysis is next to impossible).

A hovering shadow whispering in my ear about all of the reasons why I’ll be alone forever, but never a fear, for my trauma has taught me to enjoy solitude.

Leave a Reply

