Response to Open Letter to Rape Victim

I do not like to post about my political opinions on any site, but this is completely different. Joe Biden has spoken up about sexual violence before and it was very inspiring. And this is the most heartbreaking, beautiful letter I have ever read.

The tear-jerking open letter Joe Biden wrote to the Stanford rape survivor.

I can’t express how much it probably hurts this poor woman to see her rapist getting only 6 months.
WHAT KIND OF JUDGE DOES THAT?!
I don’t know. What I do know is that my assaulter walks free and breathes air every single day, not giving a single fuck about anyone else but himself, while my PTSD lives with me. It is the air that I breathe. So this is my open letter to this victim and to anyone who has ever been sexually assaulted:

I hope you find peace. I hope you are able to still see that this world is beautiful and your beauty is an important part of this beautiful world. It took me years to even realize I was assaulted and then a decade afterwards to see the beauty of life. And the beauty is not about where you are, but who you’re with- who you can look forward to being with, the experiences that you can have and the opportunities that you do have, and no matter how short that list may seem, at least you have a list. You have your body and it may always feel tainted and scarred and you may always feel as though you have the word “victim” written all over you, but no one is stronger than you. And you are not alone ❤

If you haven’t clicked the link yet, click it! If you’ve read this far, then you should really click the link. Words are something beautiful ❤

9 thoughts on “Response to Open Letter to Rape Victim

Leave a Reply

