Consolation Prize

Enough disrespect,
Enough ignorance;
Does this count as losing patience?
When it’s been hours, 
Days, 
Weeks, 
Since we have spoken;
Pardon my voice.
It’s a little broken,
But I’ve been suffocating-
Choking
On your lies, 
Will you ever 
Take off your disguise?
I’ve always been a lover and a fighter,
I’ve worked hard to earn love,
But is giving up fighting,
Giving it up on it all
After fighting for so long,
For all of you,
Qualify as giving up?
I want to believe
That I finally love myself 
Enough
To accept that not every fight
Will result in victory.
I’ll just take this consolation
As a lesson learned in time.

6 thoughts on “Consolation Prize

Leave a Reply

