The Prehistoric Stage of a Slam

This is a rough piece of the beginning of a slam poem that I just began working on. It’s very jumbled, and I keep rearranging the order, but I hope it makes some sort of sense. More will be added soon, hopefully.

I can’t help but wonder 
What other people think,
But when you assume other people’s thoughts, it makes me sink;
I have to wash out this dirty taste in my mouth;
I don’t need that slime,
I have enough phlegm for a lifetime;
No one knows where you’ve been 
Or where you’ll end up going,
But the best part of life is not knowing;
So don’t let society guide you;
Don’t let them push you in the wrong direction,
When your passion echoes from the other end of the intersection;

Leave a Reply

