In the Simplest Words

In the simplest words, being depressed is not the same as being sad. I can be having a good time with my favorite people in the world, doing my favorite thing in the world, and then all of a sudden, I feel really low. I start to wonder why I’m sad, and what caused me to be  sad. I wasn’t thinking about anything sad. But my heart suddenly hurts and my chest suddenly feels heavy – the kind of heavy that you feel when you first learn that you’ve lost someone close to you, only there’s nothing to accept- depression is not a mourning process. It is not a ladder. It is like trying to catch smoke. 

Leave a Reply

